The following is placeholder text known as “lorem ipsum,” which is scrambled Latin used by designers to mimic real copy. In sit amet felis malesuada, feugiat purus eget, varius mi. Vestibulum ante ipsum primis in faucibus orci luctus et ultrices posuere cubilia Curae. Nulla eu pretium massa.

The Peterson Award

The Peterson Significant Chapter Award, sponsored annually by the Sigma Chi Foundation, is the highest honor that the Fraternity bestows upon an undergraduate chapter. Named for 38th Grand Consul J. Dwight Peterson, INDIANA 1919, the award recognizes excellent, but not impossible, performance by chapters in all major areas of operation and programming. 

Iota Lambda has received the Peterson Significant Chapter Award 18 of the 20 years it has been eligible for the award. This is the highest honor given to an undergraduate chapter, making Iota Lambda one of the top undergraduate chapters in Sigma Chi.  

Thomas Cowen Bell Chapter

Through the Foundation’s Bell Chapter Challenge program, alumni from each chapter can make unrestricted gifts to directly sponsor their chapter’s participation in all of the Fraternity’s key leadership programs and provide scholarship opportunities.

As a Thomas Cowan Bell Chapter and Peterson Award recipient, we receive hree additional free slots for registration at Balfour Leadership Training Workshop (LTW); one designated slot for the Horizons leadership development program; one designated $1,000 academic scholarship that will recognize the chapter’s lead donor; and a CHOICES alcohol and drug awareness program at no cost to the chapter.

Daniel William Cooper Award

This annual award honors the undergraduate chapter that has the most outstanding scholastic achievement program. The winning chapter receives a plaque and has its name engraved on the Daniel William Cooper Award trophy on display at the Sigma Chi Headquarters. Recipients of this award are chosen from the pool of Peterson Significant Chapter Award applicants.

The Iota Lambda chapter has had the honor of receiving this award two out of the last seven years for our dedication to learning in the classroom.